Dust in the sunlight is the tranquil dance of a million fireflies,
From the perspective of a poet.

 
A crowded room is a lonely place,
From the perspective of a person who feels alone.

 
Superficial conversation is a lethal poison,
From the perspective of a deep thinker.

 
A small moment, that most don’t notice, is a meaningful memory,
From the perspective of an introvert.

 
Completing a simple task is like scaling a mountain,
From the perspective of the anxious minded.

 
A happy person is blatant mockery,
From the perspective of a depressed soul.

 
Sitting in silence is a dangerous pastime,
From the perspective of a person with ear-splitting thoughts.

 
A profound connection is a rare & special silver lining,
From the perspective of the hopeless.

 
Strong opinions are better kept hidden,
From the perspective of a people pleaser.

 
A withheld truth is a bitter betrayal,
From the perspective of the brutally honest.

 
Completely letting go is an impossible thing,
From the perspective of the fiercely loyal.

 
A willful sin means life or death,
From the perspective of those strong in faith.

 
Free will is a overwhelming confusion,
From the perspective of those with a righteous conscience.

 
A decision is a bloody war of emotions & logic,
From the perspective of an indecisive person.

 
Making a sacrifice is an easier load to carry,
From the perspective of those who are passive.

 
Taking a risk is like taking a bullet,
From the perspective of the hesitant.

 
Others’ feelings & actions are always justified,
From the perspective of the empathic.

 
And everything can be understood,
From the perspective of another man’s shoes.

I wrote this poem in a couple of hours. It was the kind of poem that suddenly comes to me, almost complete, and I can’t stop writing until I’ve finished getting it all down. There was no stopping the creative flow. When I was writing it, I could hear the words very clearly in my mind. I found myself saying each word out loud as I wrote it. So, I decided to do a recitation video of this poem because I wanted to channel the emotions more. Whenever I hear something read aloud, it makes it that much more personal & it resonates more deeply. I hope it has that effect on you. As always, thank you. Here is the video: 

​​​

5 thoughts on “Perspectives

  1. Dearest Elise, thank you for sharing your work with your video. I received such an amazing emotion listening to you read your poem. Where when I read it, I see my perspective of it which is different for we both are coming from a different perspectives. I love you so dearly👼💕🐬

    Like

Leave a Reply

