(Inspired by the tragedies of friends & loved ones.) 

To my sleeping child:

Your tender heart did not beat long enough. 

Your precious life was cut too short–

You left my arms too soon.

My life began when you came &

my life ended when you went.

I had a little piece of hope &

it was torn away from me–

But I’ll always cherish the time I had with you.

It was the greatest pleasure of my life

To have held the one I carried, 

To have seen the one I created.

You may have days unlived, 

but never any days unloved.

Though you are not here with me,

Where you should be,

You are forever in my heart,

Forever in my mind,

Forever a part of me.

2 thoughts on “A Mother’s Message

Leave a Reply

